Birthplace of the Lone Star Flag of Texas

   In 1997, the Texas House of Representatives of the 75th Texas Legislature officially commemorated Montgomery County, Texas, as the birthplace of the Lone Star Flag of Texas in the following House Resolution:

H.R. No. 1123 R E S O L U T I O N
WHEREAS, The Lone Star Flag, with its vibrant fields of red, white, and blue and a single inset star, has served as a proud symbol of Texas since 1839; and
WHEREAS, At the request of President Mirabeau B. Lamar, Dr. Charles B. Stewart of Montgomery County created this inspirational banner, and the elegant simplicity of his design truly exemplified the united will of the citizens of the new Republic of Texas; and
WHEREAS, After winning approval by a committee of six signers of the Texas Declaration of Independence and then Congress, the Lone Star Flag was officially designated in 1839, and since that time it has graced flagpoles across the state of Texas; and
WHEREAS, Following Dr. Stewart's passing, his flag sketch and other materials were handed down first to his son, Edmund, and later to his granddaughter, Elizabeth Stewart Fling, who donated them to the State Archives in Austin in order to preserve her grandfather's historic works for current and future generations of Texans; and
WHEREAS, In recognition of Dr. Stewart's timeless contribution to our state's heritage, a history of the flag documentation was created for permanent display at the Montgomery County Heritage Museum in Conroe; and
WHEREAS, Dr. Charles B. Stewart's design of the Lone Star Flag created in cloth and in color an embodiment of the spirit and will of the people of Texas, and his work remains a great source of pride to the people of Montgomery County today, nearly 160 years after its creation; now, therefore, be it
RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 75th Texas Legislature hereby officially commemorate Montgomery County as the birthplace of the Lone Star Flag.